We've made changes to our Privacy Policy. To review these updates please click here.

Uruguay Champion of the Special Olympics South American Football Cup “Copa America” 2016

Alt Image
See more photos
The team from the host country, Uruguay, won the championship of the Special Olympics South American Football Cup on April 7 at the Domingo Burgueño Miguel stadium, located at the Maldonado Campus, in Uruguay. This event --organized by the Government of Maldonado, the National Sports Ministry, Special Olympics Uruguay, and Special Olympics Latin America—more than 11 countries participated from which nine were from South America – Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Venezuela, Uruguay, Paraguay, and Peru—plus the guest countries, Mexico and Cuba, this last one with a new team that made their debut in an international event. The final positions were: First place: Uruguay, Second place: Ecuador, Third place: Venezuela, followed by the delegations from Brazil, Paraguay, Mexico, Cuba, Bolivia, Argentina, Peru, and Chile. The closure was a moment of thrill and celebration that followed the match between Uruguay and Ecuador (2-1). The delegations took the field according to their final positions to sing Uruguay’s National Anthem and extinguished the Flame of Hope that represents the end of this important unified football tournament. During this ceremony, Special Olympics awarded the representatives of the National Sports Ministry, Fernando Cáceres; the Acting Mayor, Jesus Betancourt; and the President of Special Olympics Uruguay, Aurora Aroba, for their work and dedication to the event. The Special Olympics “Copa América” was developed under the Unified Sports Program that joins people with and without intellectual disabilities on the same team. It was inspired by a simple principle: training together and playing together is a quick path to friendship and understanding.

About Me:

 Communications Coordinator for Special Olympics Latin America


See video on YouTube


Ler mas