Games and Competition

When are Games?

Two athletes swimming in a race.

Since the first Special Olympics International Games in 1968, the world has transcended the boundaries of geography, nationality, political philosophy, gender, age, culture, and religion to come together every two years for the Special Olympics World Games. Alternating between summer and winter, the World Games have become the flagship event of the Special Olympics movement and have grown to be an international demonstration of inclusion, acceptance, and unity.

World Winter Games Kazan 2022: 22 – 28 January 2022

World Games Berlin Pre-Games: June 2022 – TBC

World Games Berlin 2023: 17 – 24 June 2023

The Special Olympics World Winter Games in Kazan, Russia in 2022 will serve as a catalyst that will challenge perceptions about people with intellectual disabilities, and all people with differences, and demonstrate to the world the power of sport to establish thriving, inclusive communities by transforming attitudes and behaviors.
The Special Olympics World Games offer the opportunity to unite the world like no other event can.
The first-ever Special Olympics Unified Cup was presented by Toyota! This international football (soccer) tournament showcased the unifying power of sport on a global stage.
1 Min Read
History of the Games
2013 - Pyeongchang, South Korea
2011 - Athens, Greece
2009 - Boise, Idaho
2007 - Shanghai, China
2005 - Nagano, Japan
2003 - Dublin, Ireland
2001 - Anchorage, Alaska
1999 - Raleigh, North Carolina
1997 - Toronto, Canada
1995 - New Haven, Connecticut
1993 - Salzburg & Schladming, Austria
1991 - Minneapolis & St. Paul, Minnesota
1989 - Lake Tahoe, Nevada
1987 - South Bend, Indiana
1985 - Park City, Utah
1983 - Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1981 - Stowe, Vermont
1979 - Brockport, New York
1977 - Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1975 - Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1972 - Los Angeles, California
1970 - Chicago, Illinois