Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Leadership Teams

Special Olympics is led by a senior management team with broad corporate and nonprofit experience. Seven regional offices around the world are headed up by managing directors who support the ongoing growth and development of programs in their regions. In addition, Special Olympics has a Global Athlete Leadership Council which features an Athlete Leader from each of the seven regions and provides feedback, guidance, and ideas to the Special Olympics International Board of Directors and Leadership Team.

Global Leadership Team

Timothy Shriver, Ph.D

Chairman of the Board

Mary Davis

Chief Executive Officer

Jim Barbee

Chief Financial Officer

Steve Borrelli

Chief Human Resources Officer

Dimitri A Christakis, MD, MPH

Chief Health Officer

Loretta Claiborne

Chief Inspiration Officer

John Dow, Ph.D

Chief, Regional & Program Operations

Shawn Ferguson

Chief of Global Government Relations

Brandon M. Fitzgerald

Chief Legal Officer; Secretary, Board of Directors

Annemarie Hill

Chief of Health Operations

Jacqueline Jodl, Ph.D

Chief, Global Youth and Education Officer

Emily Klinger

Chief, Leadership & Organizational Development

Louis Lauria

Chief of Sport and Competition

Zehra Sayin

Chief Marketing, Communications & Development Officer

Regional Presidents and Managing Directors

Claudia Echeverry

Regional President & Managing Director, Latin America

David Evangelista

Regional President & Managing Director, Europe Eurasia

Greg Epperson

Regional President & Managing Director, North America

Freda Fung

Regional President & Managing Director, East Asia

Dipak Natali

Regional President and Managing Director, Asia Pacific

Charles Nyambe

Regional President & Managing Director, Africa

Ayman Wahab

Regional President & Managing Director, Middle East/North Africa

Global Athlete Leadership Council

Barbara Njovo

Special Olympics Africa

Victor Umeh

Special Olympics Africa

Hay Qing Hui

Special Olympics Asia Pacific

Wonjae Choi

Special Olympics East Asia

Inge Maiberg

Special Olympics Europe Eurasia

Daniel Guerra

Special Olympics Latin America

Abdullah Aref

Special Olympics Middle East North Africa

David Duncan

Special Olympics North America

The Founder’s Council

In 2018, as part of the 50th anniversary of Special Olympics, The Founder’s Council was established to strengthen the role that the descendants of Eunice Kennedy Shriver play in promoting the importance of Special Olympics, its impact, and ensuring the future success of the Special Olympics movement. The Founder’s Council is composed of not fewer than three and not more than nine direct descendants of Eunice Kennedy Shriver. Their primary role is to participate in and advocate on behalf of the organization’s mission and Special Olympics athletes worldwide in order to use their voices to press for a stronger and more impactful movement.

Kathleen Shriver

Vice Chair

Tim Shriver Jr.

Council Member

Natasha Hunt Lee

Council Member