Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Board of Directors

Special Olympics' volunteer Board of Directors determines international policies. The board is composed of business and sport leaders, professional athletes, educators and experts in intellectual disabilities from around the world.


Timothy Shriver, Ph.D

Chairman of the Board

Mary Davis

Chief Executive Officer

Anne Finucane

Lead Director & Vice Chair

Dale Jones


Brandon M. Fitzgerald

Chief Legal Officer; Secretary, Board of Directors

Daniel Kurland

Assistant General Counsel, Assistant Secretary

Board Members

Seun Adigun

Chiropractor, Biomechanist, Speaker First African Summer & Winter Olympian Nigeria's Historic Women's Bobsled - Driver BSFN & Special Olympics Global Ambassador

His Excellency Yousef Al Otaiba

UAE Ambassador to the US; Special Olympics

Jaime Alemán

Former Ambassador of Panama to the United States; Senior Partner, Aleman, Cordero, Galindo & Lee

Kiera Byland

Chair, Global Athlete Congress; Special Olympics Athlete, Great Britain

Dr. Jim Clements

President, Clemson University

Bart Conner

Sports Broadcaster; Olympic Gymnastics Gold Medalist

Didier Drogba

Legendary Professional Football (Soccer) Player

Emanuelle Dutra Fernandes de Souza

Special Olympics Brazil athlete, former Sargent Shriver Global Messenger, Consultant to SOI Leadership and Organizational Development department

Amadou Gallo Fall

President of the Basketball Africa League

Benita Fitzgerald Mosley

Chief Executive Officer, Multiplying Good; Olympic Gold Medalist, 100 Meter Hurdles

Jennifer Fortner

Managing Director, Goldman Sachs Chicago

Eva Gažová

International Advisory Committee Europe Eurasia Representative; National Director of Special Olympics Slovakia

Mary Gu

CEO of CAA China; Former Special Olympics Regional President and Managing Director of East Asia

Gail Hamamoto

International Advisory Committee North America Representative; Chief Executive Officer of Special Olympics Canada

Ronak Lakhani

General Secretary, Special Olympics Pakistan

Ray Lane

Managing Partner, GreatPoint Ventures; Strategic Advisor, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Li Ruigang

Founding Chairman of CMC Capital Partners

Glenn Lyon

Former Chairman & CEO, Finish Line

Hamchetou Maiga-Ba

International Advisory Committee Africa Representative; Chairperson, Special Olympics Mali

Károly Mirnics, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Munroe-Meyer Institute; Hattie B. Munroe Professor of Psychiatry, Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC)

Tusitina Nu’uvali

International Advisory Committee Asia Pacific Representative; National Director of Special Olympics Samoa

Carolina Picasso

President, Special Olympics Chile

James Quincey

Chairman and CEO of The Coca-Cola Company

Jim Ryan

President of University of Virginia

David Sable

Non-Executive Chairman, Young & Rubicam

Kim Samuel

President, The Samuel Family Foundation

Shi Derong

Chief Advisor, Dongyi Capital; Chairman, Shanghai Private Equity Association

Bobby Shriver

Activist; Attorney

Mark Shriver

Senior Vice President, U.S. Programs and Advocacy, Save the Children; CEO, Save the Children Action Network

Maria Gabriela Sigala

Activist; Philanthropist; Attorney

Chang-Woo Soh

Chairperson of SOEA RLC, President of Special Olympics Seoul, Vice President of SO Korea and CEO of Papa Johns Korea

Piet Steel

Former Chairman of Europe Asia Center; Former Chairman of the Board at Special Olympics Belgium

Laura Valverde

International Advisory Committee Latin America Representative; Executive Director of Special Olympics Costa Rica

Natalia Vodianova

Model; Philanthropist; Film Actress

Yang Lan

Founding Chairperson, Sun Culture Media Group and Sun Culture Foundation; Journalist; Philanthropist

Mike Zafirovski

Founder, Chairman, and President of The Zaf Group